Skip to content

I’m smitten with Smitten Kitchen

April 15, 2010

Usually I start my day perusing the latest blog post via my google reader, I LOVE my google reader!

But today was newspaper day.

I was very happy to learn the Governor’s spaghetti dinner fundraiser for Preble Street was such a success.

Good news and a tart for breakfast!

How could this day be anything but great with a start like that.

I found the Easy Jam Tart recipe on one of my favorite blogs

Smitten Kitchen.

Deb presents really good, easy to make food. Beautifully photographed to get your mouth watering.

The other day she posted an easy jam tart adapted from David Lebovitz‘s recipe in his book Ready for Dessert. I was in the baking mood so I jumped right in. It was very simple to make and Deb’s tips were spot on. Mine didn’t come out quite as pretty as hers. Mostly because of an extraction problem. I  couldn’t manage to get the tart out of the pan without it being a complete mess.  I chose to leave the tart in the pan. In this case I really do think looking good is part of the enjoyment.

Next time I will use a spring form pan, which I need to purchase. Hmmmmm….. I think after I publish this  I’ll click on over to the nearest baking store.

After I click over here and make a donation.

Bon Appetit!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 19, 2010 7:02 pm

    I am also smitten with smitten kitchen and I agree – her tips are always spot on and recipes wonderful.

Leave a Reply

